When the patient wants to leave…

Today morning a friend of mine sent me a photo of the article from the British newspaper. The quality is low, but still readable, so I decided to publish it. The problems described in the article are too important to omit them.

Due to disequilibrium1who found a link to this article you can now read it online here: http://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/health-and-families/features/stopping-therapy-we-have-ways-of-making-you-talk-9541789.html image

5 responses to “When the patient wants to leave…

  1. The picture is upside down- and maybe I am not suppoused to do that- but judging by headline I have to admit that something very similar has happened to me. I used to participate in Gestalt individual therapy and when (because of financial and “common sense” reasons) decided to cancel my analyst became really impolite, judgemental and said I am doomed to be lonely. Soon after that I felt more emotionally balanced since I had always felt really bad after the session and regarded it as natural part of th therapy, hence I feel much better now that I stopped seeing her and invested in my personal development (language studies 🙂

  2. Ah, I found an online link this this article. I had a similar situation with a therapist. My desire to leave–because therapy was useless–firmly convinced the therapist it was working brilliantly and reason for me to stay. We were in dog-chases-tail argument for several weeks before I gathered to the courage to be disobedient.

    http://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/health-and-families/features/stopping-therapy-we-have-ways-of-making-you-talk-9541789.html

  3. A good article. Thanks. My experience is that therapists so often have some kind of “agenda” of their own that interferes with helping the client. This article goes into just one category of such “agendas”.
    It does bring to mind comments two therapists said to me when I told them I was quitting: One said, “You expect to much. That’s your problem.” (She had said things like, “I’m going to ask you a question. The reason is that there’s something I want to know. The question is …” That type of non-communication was a large part of why I was quitting, and told her so.). Another said, “You’ll never get better if you keep seeking the perfect therapist.” (She had done things like saying, “I have my reasons” when I asked her why she was doing something, and laughing at me at very inappropriate times.)

    • Disguisting. It seems, that psychotherapists worked out the indestructible system of rationalizations which helps them maintain their self-esteem. Among them probably psychoanalytics are the best…

Leave a Reply

