“Psychology Led Astray” launched!

I am really happy to inform you that my book “Psychology Led Astray: Cargo Cult in Science and Therapy” is already available at publishers web pages: http://www.brownwalker.com/book/1627346090 as well as at Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/1627345280/ref=nosim/dissertationcomd). Maybe you would decide to devote some time to read it. In such a case, it would be an honor for me if  you write a short review of the book. As you probably know, this is my second book on the English language market and each review is still priceless for me. Enjoy reading!  3

3 responses to ““Psychology Led Astray” launched!

  1. Dear Tomasz, Thank you very much for both your books (Psychology gone wrong and Psychology led astray) which I have eagerly consumed! And thank you for your ongoing efforts to displace charlatanism and quackery from our discipline. I am a behaviour analyst (BCBA) supporting people with intellectual disabilities and their families. Unfortunately this is a area where quackery continues to be rampant with psychotherapeutic and sensory integration therapies dominant. I was delighted to see you addressing this area specifically in Psychology Led Astray, although I felt you might have gone further in your exploration of Attachment based therapies (an area where I see a lot of poor practice) and sensory integration therapy. Attachment / holding therapy is a easy target and is widely discredited. These other areas where malpractice wears a cloak of evidence based practice, but falls into all the other traps of NHST, poor quality and indirect assessment measures etc. are more difficult for skeptics to question. I would have liked to have heard more of your views on these areas.

    Do you have any plans to come to Ireland? I am a member of the Cork Skeptics and would happily propose you as a guest speaker? Particularly if it could be brought together with other plans in Ireland. Finally would you have any advice for someone struggling day to day against tide of quackery, with very little or no support? Smiling politely and biting my tongue is my current approach.

    Warm Regards Alan

Leave a Reply

