Elizabeth Loftus awarded 2016 John Maddox Prize

Elizabeth Loftus-TAM 9-July 2011.JPGJust few weeks ago on the occasion of the publication of my new book Psychology Led Astray: Cargo Cult in Science and TherapyThe Psychologist interviewed me (not published yet). They asked me several questions, but one of them was about books which have had a strong influence on my ideas or my career. I answered:

I admire authors with intellectual courage. Elizabeth Loftus is one of them. The publication of her books brought personal death threats, but she nevertheless continued her studies. (…)

I was enormously glad when few days ago I’ve learned that prof Elizabeth Loftus won John Maddox Prize this year. I love it when good things happen to good people like prof. Loftus. It’s just one word, but it sums up what I want to express. Congratulations!

Read more and listen more about this:

‘We can’t let the bullies win’: Elizabeth Loftus awarded 2016 John Maddox Prize, the Guardian.

False memory, manipulation and the tooth fairy, the Financial Times (£).

BBC Radio 4’s Today programme, (from 2:44:45)

BBC World Service Newshour (from 45.11)

Sense in the face of hostility, the psychologist.

UCI Professor Wins International Award, Orange County Business Journal.

John Maddox Prize win for Elizabeth Loftus, Goldsmiths.

UCI professor awarded 2016 John Maddox Prize for Standing up for Science, UCI News.

Loftus awarded 2016 John Maddox Prize for Standing up for Science, UCI School of Social Ecology.

AAAS Board Member Elizabeth Loftus Receives Maddox Prize, AAAS.

d8a9b9d6-988d-4f05-b229-d3f6f6070d4b

Leave a Reply

